Fintech Business Awards 2017 winners revealed

Fintech Business Awards 2017 winners revealed

27 February 2017

The winners of the inaugural Fintech Business Awards have been announced at a ceremony that recognised outstanding innovation and entrepreneurship in the Australian fintech sector.

Leading individuals and companies were honoured in the presence of more than 350 fintech industry stakeholders at a cocktail gala at the Ivy Ballroom in Sydney tonight.

Daniel Foggo, chief executive of RateSetter Australia, was awarded the Fintech Business Excellence Award (individual), after receiving the highest points, from the expert judges, of all winners in the individual award categories.

Midwinter Financial Services took out the Fintech Business Excellence Award (company), having been awarded the highest points of all winners in the company award categories.

“Over 300 nominations were received for the 18 awards, with the winners selected by a panel of expert judges from a pool of 125 finalists, indicating the strength of Australia’s fintech sector,” Fintech Business managing editor Aleks Vickovich said.

“We congratulate all the finalists and winners, and thank our judging panel and event partners ASX, Avaloq, Spike and Momentum Intelligence.”

The winners of the 2017 Fintech Business Awards are:

Crowdfunding Innovator of the Year: DomaCom

Lending Innovator of the Year: Prospa

Personal Finance Innovator of the Year: Pocketbook

Insurance Innovator of the Year: OneTick Technology

Payments Innovator of the Year: Airwallex

Compliance Innovator of the Year: BGL Corporate Solutions

Fintech Mentor of the Year: Claire Wivell Plater, The Fold Legal

Fintech Entrepreneur of the Year: Daniel Foggo, RateSetter Australia

Thought Leader of the Year: Claire Wivell Plater, The Fold Legal

Investment Innovator of the Year: Acorns

Software Innovator of the Year: Midwinter

Software Services Innovator of the Year: Avoka

Financial Advice Innovator of the Year: Map My Plan

Platform Innovator of the Year: BRICKX

Femtech Leader of the Year: Cathy Kovacs, Westpac

Fintech Start-Up of the Year: Valiant Finance

Fintech Business Excellence Award (individual): Daniel Foggo, RateSetter Australia

Fintech Business Excellence Award (company): Midwinter