Copyright © 2021 MOMENTUM MEDIA
Second annual Australian Space Award winners revealed

Second annual Australian Space Award winners revealed

09 June 2021

The best and brightest that the Australian space industry has to offer have been honoured and celebrated in the second annual Australian Space Awards, which took place on Friday, 4 June 2021.

Supported by principal partner KBR, the annual Australian Space Awards recognises the outstanding effort, innovation and dedication of industry participants, from individuals, to ASX-listed companies, start-ups and universities, in the national industry’s night of nights.

The complete list of winners for the 2021 Australian Space Awards are:

Individual Categories

Academic of the Year - Sascha Schediwy, University of Western Australia

Engineer of the Year - Andrin Tomaschett, UNSW Canberra Space

Executive of the Year - Robert Coorey, Geospatial Intelligence

Female Leader of the Year - Professor Anna Moore, Australian National University Institute for Space

Graduate of the Year - Clint Therakam, UNSW Canberra Space

Innovator of the Year - Blake Nikolic, Black Sky Aerospace

Researcher of the Year - Saeid Nahavandi, Deakin University

Rising Star of the Year - Christopher Capon, UNSW Canberra

Scientist of the Year - Graziella Caprarelli, University of Southern Queensland

Excellence Award - Sascha Schediwy, University of Western Australia


Group Categories

Business of the Year (Large) - Electro Optic Systems

Business of the Year (SME) - Shoal Group

Defence Business of the Year - Geospatial Intelligence

Innovator of the Year - Geospatial Intelligence

Research Organisation of the Year - Boeing Research & Technology Australia

Space Education and Outreach Program of the Year - CUAVA

Start-up of the Year - Prism Neuro


A huge congratulations to all of our talented finalists and winners of the 2021 Australian Space Awards.


View all