Winners of the Australian Space Awards 2024 revealed

Winners of the Australian Space Awards 2024 revealed

Fleet Space Technologies and Neumann Space were among the organisations crowned winners at this year's Australian Space Awards.

The Australian Space Awards recognises the nation’s top space industry professionals and businesses.

The fifth annual Aus Space 24 Australian Space Awards was held on Tuesday, 28 May at The Star in Sydney in the presence of 400 members of the space industry.

Click here to view the full list of winners.

The awards recognised Australia’s top space industry professionals and businesses who have been driving the development of the space economy, while acknowledging all space industry stakeholders.

A total of 26 winners were chosen out of a record high of 165 finalists this year, including academics, engineers, female space leaders, and scientists. Mentors, innovators, and rising stars were also lauded for their efforts to propel to space industry forward.

These included major listed organisations, corporates servicing Australia’s space sector, small-to-medium enterprises (SME), start-ups, academic institutions, and associations driving innovation and accelerating the industry to new heights.

This year, the Excellence Award was given to highest-scoring individual winner and application engineer at Advanced Navigation, Matthew Suntup. This followed him being named Graduate of the Year earlier in the evening.

Other individual winners included representatives from Fleet Space Technologies, Southern Launch, Geospatial Intelligence, and several academic institutions.

Several prominent businesses were declared winners in the group categories, including Electro Optic Systems (which won two awards), Equatorial Launch Australia, Neumann Space, and Lunar Outpost Oceania.

The awards ceremony also provided attendees the opportunity to network with leaders of the space industry while being entertained throughout the evening by Australian stand-up comedian and television and radio presenter and emcee Claire Hooper.

The Aus Space 24 Australian Space Awards program has become the benchmark for excellence in Australia’s growing space industry. It celebrates the outstanding contributions of best and brightest professionals and businesses who are dedicating themselves to ensuring the local space industry thrives and is competitive on the global stage.

As the domestic space industry is projected to triple by 2030 to between $10 billion and $12 billion, many of the most innovative space businesses have capitalised on the awards program to drive business growth, recruit and retain top talent, and win contracts, while recognition has underpinned career advancement for professionals in the industry.

To view the full list of winners, click here.

For more information about the awards program, click here.